Paint Experiments

Since beginning this course I have realised that I do have an ability with paint, in my 24 years of life I’ve never really used paint as I had convinced myself I could not work with it. However, after attempting to sort of draw with paint it has become clear that I created that barrier myself.

Firstly I decided to look at maybe creating a piece that is more abstract than realistic and I wanted to experiment with colour and movement:

I actually really love this piece, I’m super happy with how vibrant it is and the way it looks almost like a rose.

After a while I needed to get some more inspiration to get back on track with my coursework so I sat down once again with a blank page in front of me, I decide it would be interesting to see how I could create something from imagination so I took a canvas board and got to work.

Then I thought back on some of the exercises, for example still life and faces and I wondered if I could create maybe more stylised pieces with a strong composition and if I could render an animal’s face and capture their essence effectively.

Leave a comment